Rating: 3.5 Starts – GREAT READ

Okay so I bought this book a while ago but have just recently gotten around to reading it. It was recommended to me by Amazon every time I logged onto the website so I figured I’d give it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book and how attached I got to the main characters, Ella and Micha. It was a very quick read (I finished in about 4 hours) and I’m really looking forward to the sequel to this book. I wasn’t ready to let go of Ella and Micha quite yet.

This books starts with Ella returning home for the summer after her first year of college. As the reader, there are significant mentions to the event on the bridge and a lot of darkness that surrounded Ella prior to her leaving for college. After disappearing for 8 months, Ella returns to find Micha who basically put his life on hold while waiting for her. I loved how Micha did not hold back on speaking his feelings to Ella, but at the same time he knew when he was pushing her too far. You really knew that these two had a history and chemistry and really knew each other inside and out. It was great to see Ella’s carefully constructed new “fake” life crumble the more time she was around Micha. The love story evolved at a good pace – it wasn’t dragged out which I appreciated.

The only thing I wish Jessica Sorensen should have done was give us more back story. I want to know what happened to Ella and Micha while they were teenagers, instead of just reliving it through their flashbacks. I want to see their relationship evolve from best friends to something more. I want to see the destruction of Ella’s family. I want to see more of Ella’s fiesty, sassy personality that we were told she had. I think it would’ve explained more and we, as readers, would relate more to Ella. Maybe Ms. Sorensen would consider a prequel?

Overall, it was an easy, fun, engaging read. I was interested until the end and I wanted to keep reading. I’m looking forward to “The Forever of Ella and Micha”.

