Tags

, , , ,

The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window

Rating: 5 stars – A MUST READ

I originally became a fan of Kirsty Moseley when I read “The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window” so I’ll start by reviewing that book first. In short, I absolutely LOVED this book and even read it a couple of times since purchasing it. There was something so innocent about this story but at the same time it dealt with some serious issues that most writers tend to stay away from, especially with a Young Adult target audience. The only bad thing I can say about this book was that it ended (and even the ending was perfect so I can’t really complain about that either).

The story is told in alternating POVs of Amber and Liam and we quickly (Chapter 2) learn that Amber and Liam have an interesting relationship. Liam is Amber’s older brother’s best friend and their next door neighbor. Liam also has slept in Amber’s bed every night for eight years, which started as an accident but they quickly found that neither of them were able to sleep without the other one there, hence the eight years of Liam sneaking into Amber’s bedroom every night and quickly leaving every morning. It seems that Amber and Liam never really spoke of their arrangement and neither appeared to have any romantic feelings for one another.

When us readers are introduced to these two, it seems that those romantic feelings, whether they are new or were dormant for so long, seem to be surfacing for Amber and it also seems that Liam has been in love with her for years. I think us readers knew that Liam loved Amber before Amber did – he calls her “Angel”!!! The first part of the book follows their story and how their unique relationship turned into something more. I loved how Kirsty Moseley told this story. It was sweet and honest, but not dragged out or cliche. This is one of my favorite things about Ms. Moseley’s writing. She makes me want to be back in high school and meet my first love all over again!

I think the best part of this book was the conflict in the book – Amber’s father. The way Ms. Moseley handled this delicate, yet disturbing topic was so genuine that I have nothing but praise for her. It is so heartbreaking to know that these situations happen around the world but, that it is possible for the victims to move on and gain strength from it.

This book told a great story about falling in love and overcoming your personal demons. I loved it and became an instant fan of Kirsty Moseley. This is a great young adult book that anyone of any age would enjoy!

