Image

Rating: 4 stars

I struggled with the rating for this book. When I first started it, I was skeptical and it took a while for me to really get into the book. However, once I did, I really did enjoy it and am glad I finished! This one is different than a lot of the other books that are out there currently. The story was so well planned and thought out and the premise was so different. I think that is why it took me a while to get into the book – I needed to wrap my head around how different this one was going to be.

Summary: We meet Asha (how awesome of a name is that?!) after the death of her long time boyfriend. Death and Asha go together like peas and carrots (thank you Forrest Gump for that reference) or at least in her opinion. She is broken, lost, lonely and scared. Her life has been plagued with death upon death of the people she was closest too that it started to become a pattern in her life. When she meets Luke, she keeps her distance, despite the feelings she has been having, for fear that like everyone else who has gotten close to her, he will end up dead.

The story is told entirely from Ash’s POV and you really get an in depth look at what is going on in her head in addition to flashback from all the other deaths that have haunted her. One of the biggest things I really enjoyed about his book was the development of Ash and Luke’s relationship. It started so slow I think a snail could beat it. At one point, I didn’t even know if they’d even get in a relationship. However, their story, although it took a while to build, was fantastic to follow. Everything from the cupcakes to the son to the tiramisu (you’ll know when you read it) was so addicting to read. Their connection and story was what really made me enjoy this book the most. When I finished it, I looked back and realized how perfect Ms. Ward handled the relationship. It needed to start out slow because of where Ash was in her life when they met. If it happened any differently I think it would’ve been unbelievable.

I am thrilled that Ms. Ward is writing a sequel of sorts from Luke’s POV which not only tells the story from his perspective, but it also takes us more in the future after I Love You to Death ends. I promise I won’t be skeptical when it comes out, because what I realized was how much I enjoy Ms. Ward’s work. Take a chance and read this!

