chasing nikki

Rating: 3.5 stars

This is the THIRD time I’m writing this review for some reason WordPress won’t let me publish it and then keeps erasing it. Has this ever happened to you? ANNOYING. Okay let’s try this again…

Wow, I thought this one was going to be a light-hearted, high school romance novel. I was wrong! The first part of the book followed Chase moving to his grandparents’ ranch and dealing with his father’s death with the only way he knew how – by drinking and doing drugs. Then he meets Nikki, a beautiful cheerleader who wants absolutely nothing to do with a football jock who has player written all over him. But Chase is persistent and eventually finds his way into her heart.

This one was written entirely from Chase’s POV and it is the first time in a while that I’ve read a book entirely from the male’s perspective. It was refreshing and I think Ms. Weatherford did such a great job balancing a masculine, tough guy persona with the emotions he had going on in his head.

I really enjoyed Chase and Nikki’s relationship. It was innocent, honest and deep. Nikki was one of the few people who saw through all of the bullsh*t and saw Chase for who he really was, sometimes better than he saw himself. She made him want to become a better person and I think she succeeded. I couldn’t wait to read about their happily ever after. And then the ending happened…

I was conflicted when I finished it. I have read books in the past that have followed similar suit where the happily ever after doesn’t happen for various reasons and have felt cheated, like I wasted my time investing in something that was never going to happen. However, after thinking about it a little more, I realized that this was Chase’s story, not Nikki’s. It was his journey and it made me understand that this needed to happen in order for his story to continue. I don’t have to like it, but I understand it and accept it.

