Rating: 3.5 stars

Let me start by saying I loved this story. As far as plot goes, this one was a great one. Meet the Archer boys: Rome, who is in the Army and on medical leave, and Rule, a tattoo artist that doesn’t give a crap what anyone thinks, especially his family, and does everything in his power to push everyone away. Rule is also one half of the Archer twins. His identical twin brother, Remy, died in an accident leaving the Archer family in shambles. Now let’s meet Shaw Landon: gorgeous and smart (she’s studying to be a doctor), but from a family that makes her constantly try to play a role rather than accept her how she is. Shaw met Remy Archer when she was 13 and he brought her into his family where she because like a daughter.

Remy and Shaw had such a close relationship, that everyone assumed they were in a romantic relationship. However, Shaw has been in love with Rule, since the moment she met him. She spent years admiring him from afar. When Rule finally starts looking at Shaw different he, along with his family, can’t seem to get past the fact that she was his brother’s girl. This story chronicles the beginning of their relationship and takes us through a roller coaster ride that involves two dysfunctional families, a psycho ex boyfriend and lots of tattoos and piercings.

Okay now after telling you how much I enjoyed this book, now I have to tell you why it didn’t even get 4 stars from me. There were so many grammar and spelling mistakes that it became hard to figure out what the sentence meant. I normally overlook almost all spelling and grammar mistakes especially if I can figure out what the author meant. It doesn’t usually bother me so long as I get the gist of what it means. There were many times where I had no idea what the sentence meant because there were so many mistakes, sometime I felt like words were missing. Ironically, I just read this amazing blog post by a fellow blogger Totally Booked Blog that wrote about the problems we as readers have with poor editing (click to read). They hit the head on the nail. It makes a difference.

In addition to the writing mistakes, there was an inconsistency in the story that really bother me. The age difference between Shaw and Remy/Rule was muddied. At one point, Shaw is 13 while Remy is 19 when they meet, but then at the same time, Shaw is 19 and Rule is 22. Then later Shaw is 13 when they meet, but Remy was 16. This inconsistency may seem small but it had me thinking about it throughout the book. I deduced that Shaw is only 3 years younger than Remy/Rule, but when that one inconsistency stuck with me the entire story and really seemed to bother me.

This story was great – I would even go far as saying it was fantastic. But the way the story was presented in such a poorly edited form, it took away from such a great, original story. Had the editing been better and the grammar/spelling been better, this book would have easily earned 4.5 stars.

Click to Purchase “Rule” on Amazon

