fallen too far

Rating: 4 stars

I don’t know what took me so long to read this one, but it was good! It has romance, sex, a hot bad boy and plenty of secrets. The biggest thing that surprised me about this book was that I did not expect the ending at all. I had no idea what the “big reveal” was going to be at all. I made some guesses, but it totally took me by surprise and I really appreciated that it wasn’t predictable.

At the start of the book, we meet Blaire, who just lost her mother to cancer, and who is going to her father, whom she hasn’t seen in years, for help. When she arrives at the house her father said he’d be at, she meets Rush – her father’s new wife’s son – so essentially her step brother and her father is off in Europe. He is an ass, a player, rude and of course super hot. There is an underlying hostility towards her that she has no idea why but since she has no where else to go, she stays in a small room under the stairs. The attraction between Blaire and Rush is pretty evident, but he does everything in his power to resist her. As the story continues, their relationship blooms, but the secret, that everyone else seems to know, eventually comes out and Blaire is destroyed.

First off, I really liked Blaire. I’m not one to hold back my opinion on naive, shy, innocent girls over the age of 18 that run from their problems – I’m not a fan. But, with Blaire, it’s different. I liked her from the moment she pulled her gun out when she got to Rush’s house. She may be innocent and naive, but she is a tough cookie who has been through her share of crap. She has an inner strength that made me understand her and root for her, rather than be annoyed with her naivity. And by the end of the book, I felt like she really grew and matured as a person. After having her heart broken she realized that “love wasn’t enough. Everyone always said that love was enough. It wasn’t. Not when your soul was shattered.” This showed me how much growth she’s been through.

This story was great. The “secret” like I mentioned earlier, came out of left field at least for me. And this wasn’t some obvious, petty secret like she was cheated on or something like that. This was big and a little confusing. I didn’t blame Blaire for running away after finding all this out – I myself needed a moment to figure out what the hell was going on! This book was well written, thought out and planned very well, and had great characters you both loved and hated. I’m excited that the sequel “Never to Far” is coming out this year.

Click to Purchase “Fallen Too Far” on Amazon

