the propositionthe proposal

The Proposition

Rating: 3.5 stars

Amazon has been suggesting this book to me for a while now and I honestly don’t know what took me so long to read it. This one is about Emma, who has suffered painful tragedies in the past few years, who desperately wants to be a mother. Since her gay best friend refuses to donate his sperm, Aiden Fitzgerald decides to step in and offer his services, but only if they can do it the old fashioned way. Predictable? Yes, but it was still a good story and very well written.

I really did like both Emma and Aiden. Emma was sweet, compassionate, understanding and an all-around wonderful person. Aiden, although he has a reputation for been a player, turned out to be a really great guy. Their relationship really developed pretty fast after their proposition went into effect. I wish there was more…conflict I guess. It just happened so naturally, yet at the same time it only seemed like Emma really had feelings for him. You knew Aiden felt something for Emma and that she was different for him, but at the same time it was like she was pushing him into the relationship, without actually pushing him. (I hope that sentence made sense!). However, it was really great to see their relationship develop and see how they both interacted with each other’s families.

It wasn’t until the incident on the dock that the conflict came. As the reader, you knew it would have to happen eventually, but it still burned when it did. The ending was great and yes it is a cliffhanger. I was so glad the second book was out so I wouldn’t have to wait to see how the story would end. All in all, this was a lighthearted, fun book and easy read.

Purchase “The Proposition” on Amazon

The Proposal

Rating: 3.5 stars

***NOTE: Don’t read this review if you haven’t read The Proposition yet***

I liked this one just as much as I like The Proposition. I forgot to mention that the book is told in the 3rd person, which I really do enjoy. The book (both books actually) were really written very well. We picked up in this book right after the cliffhanger ending. What I really liked about it was that it took a very long time before this conflict that happened was resolved…really long. Although it was a while, it was realistic and it made me like Emma, Aiden and the story that much more.

Emma finds herself on bed rest and she ends up staying with Aiden, while still unable to fully forgive him. During this time, she dates another guy. I’ll be honest, even though I know what Aiden did was awful, what Emma did was just plain cruel. For that part of the book, I really did not enjoy her or her stubbornness, even though I really liked Pesh. On a side note, I’m glad Pesh is getting a book of his own! The way Aiden handled the whole situation made me love him even more and made me want to shake Emma repeatedly until she woke up and smelled the coffee.

The ending was great and gave closure to the story. These books were good and I definitely recommend reading them. They weren’t amazing, but they were well written and the story was well told. These two are great to read if you want something light to read.

Purchase “The Proposal” on Amazon

