Rating: 4.5 stars

I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while and finally the stars aligned and I found myself with a little extra time. I finished this book in a day – that is how freaking good this book was and mind you, I own a business and had to work too. I just couldn’t not help but push everything aside to finish this one. Let’s sum up this book with two words: SEXUAL TENSION.

Synopsis:

Picking up the pieces and starting again in the US, Emma enrolls in college with her cousin, Ashley. She is finally free to do what she wants and live how she chooses, and no man will ever rule her decisions or emotions again.
That is, until Scott Mason walks on stage…

Intense bad boy Scott is the lead singer of a popular local rock band. A ladies’ man and Ashley’s long-time friend, Scott holds an instant fascination for Emma – she finds herself drawn to him, even though he represents everything she hates and needs to stay away from in a guy. He treats females like he does a cigarette – light it, use it, and lose it.

For her cousin’s sake, Emma makes an effort to get along with Scott, but she soon discovers that there is more to him than first appears, making him even more dangerous in her eyes. Behind the façade of friendship, jealousy, obsession, fear and insecurity fester – an internal battle rages as she fights her attraction and does everything she can to stop history from repeating itself.

One thing she knows for sure is that if she breaks her rule, it may destroy her.

***

After moving to the US to start college with her cousin, Emma is looking for a fresh start and begins on her first night in a new town. At the bar, Emma has an instant attraction to the lead singer of a band and has a surprisingly immediate physical reaction to him as well. But, Emma has heard all about his reputation and wants nothing to do with a bad boy, rocker who sleeps around and can’t commit.

“My breath released slowly as his low voice penetrated and vibrated intimately through the floor to my feet and up my body making me shudder, leaving me feeling as though I had been violated in the most sacred of places.”

“He had most of the ingredients that made him a recipe for a lady-killer except he was missing one main ingredient: morals. People like him, people who slept around with no respect for women, were assholes.”

This book is what would result if “Thoughtless” by S.C. Stephens and “Beautiful Disaster” by Jamie McGuire had a baby. But, even though it had similar attributes to both books, it was unique and different at the same time. I’m not going to mislead you – pretty much the entire book is a cat and mouse game where Emma and Scott take turns as the cat and mouse. They say and do hurtful things to one another and sometimes you lose all hope for these two. But, trust me when I say it is all worth the wait.

Let me talk about Emma. Normally, I cannot stand female characters that do not communicate and avoid their problems. It irritates me to no end, but for some reason, Emma did not bother me. Maybe it was because she was knowingly doing these things and she knew why she was doing it. I can’t explain it, but I liked her, even though everything about her told me not to. She did do some questionable things that I could not get on board with – things like acting out out of anger and revenge that put her in some precarious positions – but I found myself forgiving her. I’m still shaking my head trying to understand it.

Now on to Scott. LOVED him and I’m pretty sure everyone who has read this book or will read this book will love him. He, like Emma, behaved in a horrible way at times and he also could not communicate his feelings. This is a total double standard, but I like that he was evasive with his feelings about Emma. I don’t know many real life men who are an open book with their emotions, so Scott to me was a realistic guy. Scott was incredibly broken and so lonely that my heart broke for him at times, but there were also time when he was a complete d-bag and all I wanted to do was smack him upside the head.

The sexual tension in this book lasted pretty much the ENTIRE book and I loved every minute of it. Even though this book was told from Emma’s perspective, you wondered why Scott was so naive as to how Emma felt about him and vice versa. To me, this just shows how wonderful of an author Ms. Hawkes is and I am counting the days to when Rocked #2 comes out, whenever that may be.

The only things that bothered me was that there were some things that happened throughout the book that weren’t really explained thoroughly so I was left scratching my head wondering if I missed something (Emma getting sick, what happened to Scott’s dad, etc). However, everything else about this book was stellar so you need to go out and buy this book…NOW!

Click to Purchase “Rocked Under” on Amazon

