wreck meSynopsis

Life can be cruel. People can be ruthless and evil. The world can be cold and uninviting. No one knows these things better than Josephine Geroux. By her own definition, she is a twenty-five year old “nobody with nothing,” and she is content to stay that way. Growing up an orphan has made her tough and indifferent to the people around her until she meets a strangely familiar man with a face that haunts her for reasons she can’t understand.

Despite the pain that will inevitably ensue, she makes it her mission to discover what parts of her tragic puzzle she is missing. On her journey to discovering why the she feels an alarming connection to an absolute stranger, her greatest fear is reawakening the demons and darkness from the past that will surely overtake her if she lets her guard down.

Little does Josephine know that the past should be the least of her worries. She is toying with a man who has already broken her heart once. She just doesn’t realize it.

Although she makes it a point to avoid interactions with others, Josephine’s life becomes entangled with the enigmatic stranger. Before she realizes it, she has given herself over to the one person who is close enough to wreck her.

My Review

Rating: 4.5 stars

Let me jump right into this. I LOVED Jo and her dirty mouth. This girl was bad ass and I genuinely liked everything about her. After having a tough life, she grew into a no-nonsense, feisty, sassy, take crap from no one kind of girl. She is brutally honest and does not beat around the bush. This girl has balls and I sorta want to be her when I grow up 🙂

I just don’t care for apologies. They’re never sincere. I can vouch for this since I have the urge at this very moment to say I am sorry for being so rude. But honestly, my impulse to apologize is only because I feel uncomfortable with the guilt I feel and my stupid human brain associates an apology with mollifying my own discomfort. Apologies are just a reminder of how selfish people are.

This stranger that Jo meets is Damon Cole. To quote Jo, “Hello, Greek God of all things masculine and sexy.” Damon is the epitome of an alpha male – possessive, controlling, bossy, oh and ridiculously hot. And pretty much from the moment they meet, Damon wants Jo and refuses to let anything or anyone stand in his way to claim her.

You may not realize it yet, but you’re mine. Not because I’m claiming you. You’re mine because that’s how it is. I feel like I have waited my whole life to find you.

Now to the story and two things that sort of bothered me. I’m not going to sugar coat this. While reading it, it totally brought me back to Fifty Shades. Things that Damon would do or behave reminded me so much of Christian Grey. But before you roll your eyes, I want to say that even though this happened, the characters were different and the story was unique. This is no repeat of Fifty Shades. And in addressing the underlying conflict of the book, maybe it was just me, but I pretty much knew what the big conflict was going to be pretty early on. To me it was predictable, but I have read other reviews saying that they were shocked by it.

All that being said I still loved this book. I’m going to be honest here, I don’t really know why I loved this book so much other than the fact that Ms. Mac really got me involved in the characters and emotionally invested. I got so invested in Jo (she really is the true shining star of the book – sorry Damon I loved ya, but loved Jo more) that all that other stuff doesn’t matter.

There is a cliffhanger at the end of this book and it is a pretty big one. But the good news is that RESTORE ME is due out at the end of this month! So if you want a sexy (oh I forgot to mention – this book has some steamy sex scenes!) read that truly develops its characters and makes you feel connected to them, then this is definitely a book you want to pick up.

*I was given an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review*

Click to Purchase “Wreck Me” on Amazon

