Shattered Grace (Fallen from Grace)

by K. Anne Raines

Read below for my review, author bio & giveaway

Shattered Grace_K Anne Raines_Banner Blog Tour Banner

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Grace grows up knowing she’s different, but she always attributed it to a mother who didn’t want her, a father who abandoned her, and a curse that sets her apart. Despite those struggles, her grandfather remained her rock and confidant. Her life irrevocably shatters the day her grandfather dies.

The day of his funeral sets off a chain of events, making Grace question everything she’s ever known to be true, and as a result, who she can truly trust. She inherits his house, part of his money, his Guardian, and something that ties them together. Just before Grace’s 18th birthday, she is thrust into a world she couldn’t fathom existed. She’s been destined for greatness, but at what cost? With eyes now open, she must decide to either be Chosen, or watch those around her suffer the consequences.

Torn between the man who’s come to protect her, and the one sent to destroy her, she teeters on the edge of contemplation…

What does it mean for those she loves….and the rest of mankind?

My Review

Rating: 3.5 stars

It has been a while since I’ve read a strictly YA paranormal book so it took me a while to get back into the mindset. I had to constantly remember that this book was about a 17 – almost 18 – year old girl who just lost the most important person in her life and was thrust with a huge responsibility that she knew nothing about. Because of this, I had a hard time rating this book. Overall, I did enjoy it.

Now I’ve read some other reviews that talk about Grace and how she just cried all the time. Yes, this is true. But what people need to constantly remind themselves is that Grace is only 17/18 years old. She has had no family there for her and the one person she did have, just died. Add on top of that, this huge bomb was dropped on her. Give the girl a break! I actually think Ms. Raines did a great job of dealing with all the different emotions Grace was going through.

The story started off slow. It wasn’t until about halfway through the book that things started to pick up. Now to give Ms. Raines some credit, I understand that this is the first book of a series and a lot of ground work had to be laid. I get it and totally understand. But for a while there, I sort of said to myself “okay when is something going to actually happen?” Rest assured, things pick up once Grace finally decides to stop living in denial and start accepting the responsibility that has been thrust on her. Once things started happening, the book got good…really good.

I think one of the biggest things I had a problem with was the love triangle – or square – in the book. Now normally, I’m okay with a love triangle so long as the author pushes us towards one side or the other. I really don’t like it when authors make the reader like both choices and make the reader feel torn between the two. Now Ms. Raines handled this situation differently. There were reasons why Grace shouldn’t be/couldn’t be with either of the two. Quentin is her protector, her Guardian and forbidden to have any sort of emotional attachment with her. Darius is all bad boy and harbors a secret of his own, but makes Grace feel things she has never felt before. What I didn’t like was that I liked both of them equally and for completely different reasons. The problem with this is that I know no matter who Grace chooses, I will be disappointed a bit, even if it’s the right choice.

I do recommend people read this book. I love this YA paranormal genre and I was so glad I got to return back to it. I look forward for the next book to come out since Ms. Raines left us with a whole bunch of people, including Quentin & Darius, under the same roof. It should be interesting.

Click to Purchase SHATTERED GRACE on Amazon

About K. Anne Raines

K Anne Raines Picture

K Anne Raines is the author of Shattered Grace, book one in the Fallen from Grace Series. She is a Washington State University graduate and the senior accountant at a local firm in her home town. K Anne’s impassioned but regular commitment to chocolate covered raisins inspires creativity at home…where ever the raisins are, there she is with her laptop. A lover of great sushi and other fine food, K Anne prefers coffee in the morning, the right wine in the evening, and her fireplace at all times. A Northwest native, K Anne Raines is the mother of three, cat lover, avid exerciser, and blanket hogger.

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

The Giveaway

K. Anne Raines is graciously giving away two (2) signed copies of SHATTERED GRACE, 15 eBook copies of SHATTERED GRACE, and a $15 Amazon Gift Card
Click here to enter > ENTER TO WIN SHATTERED GRACE GIVEAWAY

