BENT

by H.B. Heinzer

Read below for review, excerpt & giveaway

bent new cover web

Blurb

If there’s one thing Julia Wilson has learned in life, it’s that you can’t push your own dreams to the background for anyone. Newly divorced, Julia returns to the hometown she once swore would never see her again. Her plan is simple; enjoy the cheap rent her friend is offering and stay just long enough to develop a plan to make her own dreams come true.

It doesn’t take long before Julia realizes she’s made a big mistake.

Micah Anderson came closer to breaking Julia than anyone else ever had. After promising her forever, he broke her heart the week before she left for college. Now, Julia’s back in town and he’s going to have to tell her the truth about why he left her. It’s not possible to hide a twelve year old child when you live in a town of 5,000 people.

Is following your dreams worth it if it means giving up on a second chance with her first love? Is trying to make a relationship work worth it if his past becomes a threat to her safety?

Click to Purchase BENT on Amazon

Click to Purchase BENT on B&N

My Review

Rating: 4 stars

I’m going to be honest, when I first read this blurb I didn’t think I was going to like this book. However, I am so glad I was wrong! This book was great in that it told an amazing story with characters that you could relate to. First off, I love that this book was told in the 3rd person POV – you knew what was going on in the two main characters heads. Second, I love that this book was not all rainbows and ponies – there was conflict and real emotions. And finally, I love that the timeline of events happened gradually which made the story that much more realistic.

Julia. One minute I loved her, the next she irritated me. I think my feelings for her were just like her mood swings! Here’s what I LOVED about her. She grew as a person as the story went on and she learned from her past mistakes. She followed her heart, regardless of what anyone else had to say, and she was honest to herself and others. She was put through the ringer by Micha, yet she allowed herself to try to forgive him and move forward. The only thing that really bothered me about her was that she is a runner! After everything she’s been through, I didn’t expect her to run away – I wanted her to fight. But ultimately, everything happened for a reason and she ended up where she needed to be. I was proud of her by the end of the book.

Now let me talk about Micha. I wanted to love him – and I ultimately did by the end of the book – but it took me longer than Julia to forgive him for what he did in the past. What he did to Julia was messed up – not only did he betray her, but he lied to her as well. And there was never a reason given for why he did what he did other than him saying he was insecure. He kept saying to Julia that he doesn’t deserve her, and I honestly I sort of agree with him. Now don’t get me wrong, he was the sweetest, most romantic guy out there – but he just made mistake after mistake. And why didn’t he every try to contact her over the years? I had so many questions left unanswered, but the sweet, caring, loving part of him made it okay that I didn’t receive any answers. You knew how much he loved Julia – hell EVERYONE knew how much he loved her, so you couldn’t help but forgive him.

This story has a basic premise – can love be enough after betrayal and lies? Julia and Micha’s ride is a bumpy one and the answer is not black and white. To find out if these two make it, BUY THIS BOOK!

Excerpt

For only the second night since she’d been back, the emptiness between them in the bed was gone. “Can I ask you something?” Micah breathed into her ear as they lay in the dark.

“You just did,” Julia laughed.

Micah gently pulled on Julia’s shoulders until her face was inches from his. “Do you think there’s a chance that someday your heart will heal from everything I’ve done to you so you can really love me again?”

“Micah, even with everything that’s happened in our lives, I don’t think there was ever a time when I didn’t love you. You’ve bent the hell out of my heart but for whatever twisted reason, I never stopped loving you.”

He rolled her back so her back was pressing into his chest as he drew her as close to his body as possible. “I don’t deserve you.”

“No, you really don’t,” she agreed as she drifted off to sleep.

About H.B. Heizner

With the exception of three years in Nebraska, H.B. Is a Wisconsin girl through and through. She lives with her husband, two kids and roommate (also known as the “bonus parent”) in the middle of nowhere but close enough to civilization to maintain a shred of sanity.

She credits her father introducing her to an APAzine in the mid-90s for her love of writing. Bent, her debut novel, was a NaNoWriMo challenge to write 50,000 words in one month. After years of attempting and failing, she finally got through it and this is the result!

Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

The Giveaway

H.B. is giving away a SIGNED copy and two (2) eBook copies of BENT.
To enter to win > CLICK HERE

