CONNECTED

by Kim Karr

Release Date: Friday, March 22nd

Click to Purchase the Paperback on Amazon

Read below for my review, Kim’s guest post & giveaway

CONNECTED Blog Tour Banner

Blurb

What if a ‘Once in a Lifetime’ could happen twice?

Suffering from a past full of tragedy, Dahlia London’s soul has been left completely shattered. Happily ever after is a far cry from reality in her world. But, when she is reconnected with her past, the bonds that form are irrefutable.

When River Wilde, lead singer of The Wilde Ones, comes back into Dahlia’s life, the intensity that fires their relationship combined with underlying feelings that have never died lead her to believe she has met her soulmate.

Struggling with confusion as old connections fade and new ones begin, Dahlia’s grief begins to lift–but guilt remains. River wants to be the one to mend all that is torn within her.

But with a past that is never really gone, can their future survive?

My Spoiler-Free Review

Rating: 5 stars

There are a couple of things I want to mention before I get into this review. First off, I need to tell you that when you finish the Epilogue, you will say to yourself HOLY SHIT or something of that variety. This book’s ending is…wow. There is a cliffhanger per se, but trust me when I say that it made the book THAT MUCH BETTER! Yes, there is going to be a second book. Do I recommend you wait to read this book until the second one comes out – NO! This book is so good that you need to read it now. This brings me to the second point, once you finish this book you will need at least a day or two to detox from it and process what you read. I finished this book weeks ago and it has still been on my mind.

Dahlia has been with her boyfriend, Ben, for as long as she can remember and she loves him. Then one night at a bar she meets River Wilde, lead singer of The Wilde Ones, and their connection was instantaneous and it confused the crap out of Dahlia.

My boyfriend was all surfer. He was attractive, hot, and sexy with an ego to match. This breathtaking guy was equally as attractive, hot, and sexy, but there was something else – something more.

Are you swooning yet? And this all happened in the second chapter! Despite their connection, Dahlia knew she couldn’t act on her feelings, heck she didn’t even understand her feelings, so she left and returned to Ben.

Years later, Dahlia’s life is marred by tragedy, but she finds herself face to face with River Wilde once more. And even though years have pasted since that one night, the connection is still there – this feeling like they were soul mates. This book was a love story told so beautifully you were completely caught up in these characters.

Not only does my heart belong to you and yours to me, but I’ve known since the first time you kissed me that we were soul mates.

Despite being a love story, there were some…odd occurrences. I say odd because while I was reading I had no idea why some of these random things kept happening. But rest assured, there is an answer and the ending will shed light on some of the more curious happenings.

Now let me address the ending a little bit more. This was by far one of the best “cliffhanger” endings I have read in a very long time. I literally screamed out loud when this book finished demanding to know more. To me it put everything that happened into place and really set me up for the second book. The ending totally answered some questions that I had lingering throughout the book. I know everyone has a different opinion on these type of endings but I absolutely loved it and now cannot wait until the second book, TORN comes out. I know it will definitely be worth the wait.

I am officially a full fledge card member of the Kim Karr fan club – in fact I may even be up for President. I love her story and love her ideas. I even love her more that she named a character Ben Covington which coincidentally has the same name as one of my favorite characters from TV – Scott Speedman’s character from Felicity. She also found a way to incorporate Kellan Kyle (Thoughtless series) and Jake Weathers (The Mighty Storm) into the story as well – brilliant! And if you need yet another reason why this book rocks, the chapter titles are songs thereby creating an amazing music playlist to listen along to while reading! LOVE LOVE LOVE!

*I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review*

CONNECTED by Kim Karr (cover reveal on February 27th)

Guest Post

I asked Kim to explain the importance of music to this book and here’s what she had to say…

Bob Marley said, “One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.” As a listener, I couldn’t agree more. As a writer, I think it’s better to say music is what feelings sound like when those feelings are written in print.

Music and writing are different, yet similar arts. They both tell a story. They both convey emotion. Yet, one can be heard and the other seen. If you can write a story and put music behind it, I believe you can convey feelings in a more impactful, raw, and emotional way. When trying to express written emotions, the tone of a certain song can allow the reader to feel the sentiments that the character is feeling.

I chose to have each chapter be titled by a song that best represented the events occurring within. My goal is that the reader will listen to the song before reading each chapter so they will feel the full impact of the scene.

In the words of Billy Joel, “I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music.” I couldn’t agree more. Listening to the lyrics of a song and truly understanding them tells such a beautiful story. So, combining this with an emotional novel just helps bring it to life.

If you haven’t watched the book trailer for my book, Connected, please do. This will help convey the emotion I am trying to present throughout the entire novel. The song used could not have been anything other than perfect.

Click to Visit Kim’s Website for a Complete Music Playlist for CONNECTED

The Giveaway

Kim is graciously giving away a SIGNED paperback and a Kindle copy of CONNECTED.
To enter > CLICK HERE

Connect with Kim Karr

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads / Pinterest

