FALLING INTO YOU

by Jasinda Wilder

Read below for my review & giveaway

falling into you blog tour button

Purchase on AMAZON > http://amzn.to/ZZbq5A

Purchase on BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/YNZ4Ld

Purchase on KOBO > http://bit.ly/14iiKyg

Blurb

I wasn’t always in love with Colton Calloway; I was in love with his younger brother, Kyle, first. Kyle was my first one true love, my first in every way.

Then, one stormy August night, he died, and the person I was died with him.Colton didn’t teach me how to live. He didn’t heal the pain. He didn’t make it okay. He taught me how to hurt, how to not be okay, and, eventually, how to let go.

***

Nell Hawthorne is in love with her life-long best friend, Kyle Calloway. Their young love is invincible and life is full of promise; then one night Kyle dies suddenly in a tragic accident and Nell is forever changed. She meets Kyle’s older brother, Colton, for the first time at the funeral. They both struggle to move on with life as best they can. Years later, they meet again in New York City, and Colton realizes that Nell has never really gotten over Kyle’s death. She seems to be harboring a deeply rooted pain, a heavy weight of guilt and regret. He knows he shouldn’t get involved, but he can’t help himself. Trust doesn’t come easily for either of them, and they both have demons. Together, they learn the purpose of pain and the meaning of healing, and the importance of forgiveness.

Click to Add To Your Goodreads To Read List

My Review

Rating: 4.5 stars

Wow. This book was good – really good. There is a reason it is now sitting at #1 in Amazon rankings. Before I get into the story, I need to point out how much I really enjoyed Ms. Wilder’s writing. It was like a breath of fresh air – so descriptive, vivid and emotional. Her writing made this story better. I found myself really imagining myself in the story since she painted such a clear picture about what was going on.

The first thing that I loved about this book was that I knew from the beginning – it is in the description of the book – that Kyle is Nell’s first love and he dies so there was no surprises there. However, just because I knew this, didn’t make reading Part One any easier. Part One of the book is told from Nell’s POV and it tells the story of Nell and Kyle – how they went from friends to lovers, the emotions that came with a first love, and ultimately, the death of Kyle. Even though I KNEW Kyle was going to die, his death was hard to get through. You got so wrapped up in the love story between Nell and Kyle that you didn’t want him to die! This was how I knew I was going to love this book. Ms. Wilder’s writing got you so caught up in their romance and what was going on in that moment, that you were rooting for something that you KNEW was not going to happen.

So when it came time to meet Colton, I think I felt the way Nell felt – guilty. I felt guilty for liking him. I felt guilty for wanting him and Nell together. I didn’t take as long as Nell did to get over this guilt, but I still struggled to jump on board for a bit. It wasn’t until the story switched to Colton’s POV two years after Kyle’s death that I jump on the Colton train full steam ahead. You just felt that there was something more between Nell and Colton and that they needed each other. Nell obviously needed Colton to get over the pain and guilt of Kyle’s death, but you also came to learn that Colton has a past filled with that pain as well. It takes a while to find out his demons but, once you do you realize how right they are for one another.

I loved the progression of their relationship. It was slow – almost painfully slow, but in the best possible way. Here you have these two people who are drowning in guilt and the ghosts of their past trying to be together. There is no way that could happen overnight and Ms. Wilder progressed their relationship in such a realistic way.

We’d kissed before, and it was – every time – the best kiss I’d ever had. My heart clenches when I realize this includes, by a landslide, every kiss Kyle ever gave me. There’s just no comparison.

And I need to point out, which I rarely do in my reviews, the sex scenes. They were HOT and not because of what was actually happening in the scenes but because of how they were written. Not only did Ms. Wilder give me a very descriptive picture, but the feelings behind each touch or stroke were there too. She blended what was actually happening and what was going through the characters’ heads beautifully. Every feeling and emotion – lust, passion, guilt, need – the characters went through were so raw and honest. I really felt like I understood the meaning behind each action and word. It made these scenes extremely intense. I have to say that I think they were some of the best written sex scenes I have ever read.

I can feel every ridge and ripple of her lips, they’re chapped and cracked and rough from crying, from thirst. I moisten them with my own lips, kiss each lip individually. First the upper, caressing it with both of mine, tasting, touching. She breathes a sigh.

I loved the growth of Nell. Just like her and Colton’s relationship – it didn’t happen overnight. Nell’s guilt and grief were so deep seated that it took a LONG time to get over. However, I LOVED her honesty. She may have denied the feelings she had for Colton at first, but at least she was honest, with him and herself, about those feelings.

I’m going to give in to this. Time heals all wounds, right? Well, maybe I’ve had enough time, and now I just need to move on, let go. Have something that makes me happy, after so long in misery

The only thing that I was not a fan of was that I felt the end of the book was rushed. As soon as Colton and Nell were together and “official” (about 88% in), a lot seemed to happen all at once. I wish I got to see more of them being a couple. I wanted the ending to be expanded on. I wanted to see what happened next for them. Maybe there is hope for a sequel?

Either way I STRONGLY recommend you read this book. It was really a fantastic book, but I must warn you – there is a lot of sadness. You won’t be surprised by it, but it doesn’t make the sadness any easier to deal with.

*I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review*

Purchase on AMAZON > http://amzn.to/ZZbq5A

Purchase on BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/YNZ4Ld

Purchase on KOBO > http://bit.ly/14iiKyg

The Giveaway

Jasinda is graciously giving away a $100 Amazon Gift Card, a SIGNED paperback and four eBook copies of FALLING INTO YOU.
>>> CLICK TO ENTER TO WIN <<<

About Jasinda Wilder

Jasinda headshot

Jasinda Wilder is a Michigan native with a penchant for titillating tales about sexy men and strong women. When she’s not writing, she’s probably shopping, baking, or reading. Some of her favorite authors include Nora Roberts, JR Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Liliana Hart and Bella Andre. She loves to travel and some of her favorite vacations spots are Las Vegas, New York City and Toledo, Ohio. You can often find Jasinda drinking sweet red wine with frozen berries and eating a cupcake.

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

