Consequences750

Click to Purchase on AMAZON

Click to Purchase on BARNES & NOBLE

Read below for My Review & Giveaway

Blurb

Besieged by memories of a brutal abduction, Claire Nichols wakes in an unfamiliar bedroom, within a luxurious mansion. Her recollections have one common denominator, the man she just met, Anthony Rawlings. Unbeknownst to Claire, for a very long time, she has been within Anthony’s sights. Many of the pivotal events in her life occurred, due to his sinister manipulation. Every action has a consequence, and his actions result in their chance meeting.

More than a psychological thriller, Consequences is a vivid story of one woman’s struggle to survive incomprehensible circumstances. Every aspect of her being suddenly depends upon the tall, wealthy, dark haired, dark eyed businessman. Anthony Rawlings is known to the world as prosperous, benevolent, and kind. Claire quickly learns that he can also be a menacing controlling captor. With few options but concession, Claire attempts to earn her freedom, while enduring a hellish existence that truly appears perfect. Persevering tests and trials, she struggles to retain her pure Midwest values and beliefs. Encouraged by memories of a loving upbringing, she gains strength in the simplest of joys: solitude in nature and good in the face of evil.

His goal in sight, Anthony’s calculated agenda encounters an unforeseen detour. He becomes captivated by Claire’s beauty, resilience, and determination. The interaction of these two compelling characters instigates strong emotions: fear, anger, love, and lust. Claire and Anthony’s tumultuous journey flows into uncharted waters of intrigue and passion.

Utilizing vivid detail, this 167,000-word novel unfolds like a movie, before the eyes of its readers. From the opening criminal abduction, through twists and turns, to the unlikely romantic thrills, the suspense climaxes as Anthony’s motivation becomes evident. Anthony and Claire must decide if they will stay true to one another, or allow  preceding actions to result in justifiable Consequences.

My Review

Rating: 4.5 – 5 stars

Holy freaking shit. Pardon my language but after reading this book you will need to allow your potty mouth to run free. I went through probably every single emotion while reading this book – annoyance, frustration, sadness, irritation, confusion, hopeful and even happy? Here is what the author Aleatha Romig said to me while describing the book to me > “These novels are contemporary dark romance / psychological thriller.  Warning the first of the series does not have a HEA… but the saga continues!!” and “I must admit, yes… this is not your typical “romance”.  I promise many twists and turns!!!”. Boy was she NOT kidding.

Romance? I didn’t feel like this was a romance until almost halfway into the book. For the first half I spent most of the time scratching my head and wondering how I am ever going to like Anthony Rawlings. I’ve heard mixed reviews but the fans of this book have been raving about Tony. I DIDN’T GET IT! I hated him. No matter how nice he was during the first half, I still hated him for everything he was doing to Claire. And just when you thought things MAY change…BAM…you HATE him even more! By the time Claire had her accident, I was ready to write him off as the worst male character ever.

But then…you started seeing a different side to him and my heart started softening to him. I know I know I am a hypocrite, I hated me too for feeling this way. There were actually some really tender, sweet and romantic moments between Claire and Tony that you forgot how they ended up “together”. You actually started rooting for them and thinking that maybe, just maybe they had changed each other for the better. But no, just when you get there…BAM…something else happens to make you want Claire to get far, far away from him.

I LOVE that this story was told in the 3rd person – mainly geared towards Claire and Tony’s POV. There were some rare times when you actually started understanding Tony and what his thought process was. It was during these times that you started to love him. But, then like always, he screwed that up.

Ms. Romig was true to her word when she told me there were many twists and turns. I think I have whiplash from every changing emotion I had while reading this. And to top off the mercurial Tony – by the end I had no idea who he was or what to believe. Speaking of the ending, I must repeat my earlier sentiment…HOLY FREAKING SHIT!!! I was completely thrown for a loop. Is there a cliffhanger? Sort of. It’s not the kind of cliffhanger that just ends abruptly. It’s the kind that ends after shedding some light that makes you look at the book and characters in a whole new light.

After finishing this book, I literally felt about this book the way Claire felt about Tony. I didn’t know if I liked it or not and then I felt guilty for liking it/not liking it. So why the 4.5 – 5 star rating? I loved how well this book was written and how Ms. Romig had me on the edge of my seat the entire book. I cannot believe she had me hating a character for most of the book, only to make me turn around and love him by the end, but then questioning my sanity for loving him. This is what makes Ms. Romig a fantastic writer. Not only did she plan out this book, and series, to a T – but she made the reader feel every single emotion that the characters felt. The only reason it wasn’t a 5 star book was because of how AWFUL Tony was and how much I hated him at first.

This book is unlike any book that I have ever read before and it’s one of those books that you just need to talk about to someone – whether to vent or scream or commiserate. I am going to jump right into reading TRUTH so I recommend you immediately read this book!

Click to Purchase on AMAZON

Click to Purchase on BARNES & NOBLE

The Giveaway

I’m giving away 2 eBook copies of CONSEQUENCES
Winner will be chosen at the end of today and notified via email.
>>> CLICK TO ENTER GIVEAWAY <<<

