Truth750

*Note: If you haven’t read CONSEQUENCES yet, I recommend you wait to read this review. There are no spoilers about TRUTH, but there are about CONSEQUENCES*

Click to Read My Review of CONSEQUENCES

Purchase on AMAZON > http://amzn.to/YuEUtX

Purchase on BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/YRFRMK

Rating: 4.5 stars

Could it be possible to hate and love someone too?

My brain hurts. This second book in the Consequences series definitely did not disappoint – I LOVED IT. It answered a lot of questions; however, for every question answered, another three questions popped up. The first book ended with Claire in prison for attempted murder, divorced from Tony Rawlings, and her receiving (and later destroying) a box of Tony’s secrets. It picks up with Claire still in prison but she is pardoned, which sets off the first of many mysterious happenings in this book.

This is the first book that I utilized the Goodreads status updates while reading and in going back and reading them, all I can do is laugh (click to see my status updates). Just like the first book, I was on the edge of my seat, but unlike when reading Consequences, I was pro-Tony going into it. I HOPED that the good parts of Tony we saw in Consequences would carryover, even though he left her in prison and divorced her. I know, I’m shaking my head too. Why would I hope there would be a Happily Ever After after all that? What couple survives attempted murder, prison, divorce, and years of deceit? But, I went in pro-Tony and I held my ground.

She wanted to hate the man with her entire being; yet, his touch, the sound of his voice, smell of his cologne, and sight of his incredibly handsome face turned her insides to jelly. The two contrasting memories of love and domination, played simultaneously within her head.

I was disappointed at first with Tony – although I never ended up hating him. He went back to his controlling, domineering, bastard ways. Sigh. Tony don’t you ever learn? However, you knew he wanted her back from their first interaction once she was released from prison and THAT caused him to change. You really did see him try to change and it was all for Claire. I really loved him for that and could understand why Claire was constantly confused with her feelings for him. He was persistent, yet patient with her. I was a fan of him throughout the book and am now officially a card carrying member of TEAM TONY – even when he is domineering and controlling! I know I have issues.

And for the record, I never lied about or pretended to love you. I didn’t realize it at first, but I have loved you since before you knew my name.

I always loved Claire. She continued to amaze me in TRUTH and by the end of the book she was the one controlling the chess board. I LOVE that! It’s about time people stop underestimating sweet Claire – she can play the game as good as anyone, maybe even better. Now the one thing that I didn’t like was the whole Harry thing. No I take that back, it’s not that I didn’t like it, I just wanted her with Tony. I don’t know how Ms. Romig did it, but she had me rooting for the guy that kidnapped her, held her against her will and abused her, while wishing she get rid of the nice guy. Ms. Romig had me questioning my morals!

Claire realized she sometimes too thought of parts of her life as a game. And unquestionably, she enjoyed controlling the metaphorical chess board.

So why only 4.5 stars? Even though I totally understand NOW why there were parts that focused on new characters – Derek & Sophia Burke – while I was reading I didn’t understand what the big deal with them was. They were in their own world separate from Claire and Tony, so I tended to skim their parts as I got bored with them. I also got seriously irritated with Claire’s family and friends being so anti-Tony. I get it – he was HORRIBLE – and it really is her fault they feel that way since she never was 100% honest about her feelings for him, but it made me not like them at all. In a way I feel like they were trying to do to her what Tony used to do – control her feelings and what she did.

While CONSEQUENCES was about the relationship of Tony and Claire, TRUTH is much more of a chess game. You learn a lot about Tony’s past and the pieces of the puzzle start falling into place. You also get a lot of answers about Tony’s behavior in CONSEQUENCES, which was refreshing. By the end of the book Tony and Claire’s relationship was…happy, consensual and equal. You also learn that Tony is not responsible for everything that has happened thus far, there is another player in this mind game. There was no cliffhanger, but from the revelations at the end, I know that CONVICTED (due out the end of this year/beginning of next year) will be AMAZING! There is so much left to address and I am hoping Tony and Claire will team up as the King & Queen of this mind game and take down the person responsible for all the turmoil that is going on!

The Giveaway

I am giving away 2 KINDLE copies of TRUTH
Giveaway will be open for 2 days and winner will be notified via email.

>>> CLICK TO ENTER GIVEAWAY <<<

