fever

Click to Purchase on AMAZON

Click to Purchase on BARNES & NOBLE

My Review of RUSH (The Breathless Trilogy #1) > http://bit.ly/10p2xCp

Blurb

Jace, Ash, and Gabe: three of the wealthiest, most powerful men in the country. They’re accustomed to getting anything they want. Anything at all. For Jace, it’s a woman whose allure takes him completely by surprise…

Jace Crestwell, Ash McIntyre, and Gabe Hamilton have been best friends and successful business partners for years. They’re powerful, they’re imposing, they’re irresistibly sexy, and Jace and Ash share everything—including their women.

When they meet Bethany, Jace begins to feel things he’s never experienced before: jealousy, and a powerful obsession that threatens him, overwhelms him—and excites him beyond control.

Jace isn’t sharing Bethany—with anyone. He’s determined to be the only man in her life, and it’s jeopardizing a lifelong friendship with Ash. Bethany will be his and his alone. Even if it means turning his back on his best friend.

My Review

Rating: 4 stars

This is the second book in The Breathless Trilogy and it focuses on Jace Crestwell, Mia’s older brother and Gabe’s best friend/business partner. You do not need to read RUSH to read FEVER, but I recommend it so you get an understanding on who the characters are. Since the first book was about Mia and Gabe, I went into this one not really knowing anything about Jace other than the fact that he and his other best friend, Ash, enjoyed engaging in threesomes with various women. While I may have only tolerated Gabe – I LOVED Jace. He was everything I thought Gabe was lacking and he totally had me falling for him from the beginning.

Before I go any further, I want to point out that this book has A LOT of sex scenes and pretty graphic ones to say the least. If that isn’t your thing, then maybe this book isn’t for you. Like Gabe, Jace is domineering and controlling, especially in the bedroom. This is not a BDSM book, although it has some similarities to a BDSM relationship. I also want to point out that very early in the book there is a threesome sex scene that is very descriptive. I personally didn’t mind any of these and thought they were done with class, but I just want to put that all out there so you know what you are getting into.

The book starts at Mia and Gabe’s engagement party where Jace sees someone working the party that catches his eye. Before he is able to do anything about it, Ash notices his interest and approaches her. He then propositions her to join him and Jace in a threesome. Can you say AWKWARD?!? I know this is common place for these guys, but if it was me, despite how hot they may be, I’d be a little taken aback by how casual this proposition was made. Oh yea, no big deal, just come join us in the threesome, oh and we will buy you dinner too. Anyways, we learn that Bethany is homeless and has been living on the streets for years with her quasi-brother, Jack, and she has a bit of a past – not too shady but still a past.

After the awkwardness of the threesome – okay the actual threesome was not awkward, but the situation was since Jace clearly was annoyed at Ash being there – you really fully began to see that Jace FELT something for Bethany. Now why he agreed to threesome still confuses me, even after he explained it later on. But that’s besides the point. Jace falls head over heels for Bethany and thus their story begins…

Jace made this book good. He was everything I want in an alpha male. Yes he was controlling, overwhelming and demanding, but in the best possible way. He was so cautious and gentle with Bethany and he even was prepared to suppress his dominant ways if that was what she needed. He was honest about his feelings and what he wanted and he did everything he could to constantly reassure Bethany that she was what he wanted. I LOVED him! The only thing I would change about him is I would have him stop saying “baby” in every sentence. I’m a big fan of these type of endearments but after a while it got to be too much for me.

Now Bethany…I don’t know how I feel about her. She has such a sad story that you can’t help but feel bad for her. And at first she was extremely timid and insecure, understandably so, but there were parts where I got frustrated with her lack of confidence even after everything Jace has done for her and told her. I’m trying not to be so hard on these type of female leads though. I will say that towards the end of the book, she really did come into her own. You could tell she really began to feel like she belonged somewhere and embraced it. By the end you were thrilled that she and Jace got their HEA.

So now the actual story. This is where the book lost its flare for me. Bethany kept saying to Jace that the ONLY thing she could offer him was herself in exchange for a place to live, clothes, food, etc., and she said this while they were being intimate. Because this was a continuous theme of the book, I sort of began to actually look at the situation for what it was – she was giving him her body in exchange for all the other stuff – which caused me to think “she’s kinda like a prostitute”. I know she really loved him and he loved her and all that, but that’s how I saw it sometimes and I didn’t like that that’s where my mind would go. Sometimes I felt like this wasn’t a love story, but rather a story about two people who found what they needed in one another.

I still recommend reading this one and I actually liked it more than I liked RUSH. I am eagerly awaiting Ash’s story since he seems to be the most mysterious out of the three men.

*I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Reading Order

RUSH (The Breathless Trilogy #1)
AMAZON > http://amzn.to/14BovYa
BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/12apTgq

FEVER (The Breathless Trilogy #2)
AMAZON > http://amzn.to/15SkTiJ
BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/13NlbtX

BURN (The Breathless Trilogy #3)
AMAZON > http://amzn.to/15SkX1Q
BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/10kgVgd

