PIECES OF LIES

by Angela Richardson

Read below for a blurb, exclusive excerpt, author info & giveaway

POL Official Cover

Click to Add to Your Goodreads To Read List

Purchase on AMAZON > http://amzn.to/16y5vZ3
Currently Only $0.99

Blurb

Passionately driven artist, Norah Ross, has been banished from New York to Morewell for her final semester of graphic design at McLaren University. Her move allows her to reconnect with Josh, her best friend, who is more then thrilled at Norah’s appearance back into his life.

At the same time that Norah steps back into Josh’s heart, she learns that he is in the process of being accepted into McLaren’s uber exclusive secret society, the ‘Lappell’. Josh takes Norah to the Lappell’s glamorous parties in the hope of taking their friendship to the next level, but when Norah meets the handsome and elusive Clint Weston, a leader in the Lappell, he sweeps her off her feet in more ways then one.

Norah quickly becomes caught up in an emotional tug-of-war between the two guys while also trying to deal with her own secrets that follow her every day. When Norah’s past begins to intertwine with her present, what unfolds is a series of dramatic events filled with romance, mystery and dark motivations. She quickly realizes the path to real love can be paved in all kinds of lies.

Exclusive Excerpt

Yes, I had decided. Tonight was the night I was going to let Josh Hollows kiss me. Things had been different since I arrived at McLaren University. Our friendship didn’t feel like friendship anymore. There was energy between us that constantly felt charged and because I had known Josh most of my life, I trusted the possibility of exploring it further. He had made his intentions pretty obvious since our reconciliation, but didn’t push further until he saw I had recovered from my last relationship. It had taken many years for us, or perhaps just me, to be open to the idea of taking our friendship to the next level, and now, here at McLaren, we finally had no obstacles standing in our way.

Josh was very prompt arriving at eight. I was still putting on the finishing touches to my lipstick when he walked into my apartment. “Sorry, I’ll only be one more minute Josh,” I called out to him as I heard the front door shut.

“I’m going to park on the sofa while you finish, alright,” Josh yelled down the hallway. As I walked out of my bedroom, I could see the back of Josh’s head as he sat comfortably on the sofa, waiting for me to make an appearance. From behind, his knee was jerked out to the side and it was pulsing up and down as he waited, like someone with a nervous tick

I wonder if he is as excited about this date as I am.

In a moment of impulse, I walked up behind him, moved my hand along his shoulders, and quickly walked around to the front of the sofa and took a seat on his lap, taking him by complete surprise. His eyes glowed in excitement. I frowned a little when I saw his face, “Oh you shaved your stubble. You know how much I liked it.” I rubbed his clean-shaven jaw. He closed his eyes as I ran my hand up and down his cheek in smooth firm movements. He really was unbelievably handsome with those dreamy green eyes and rugged good looks.

“You know I’ll grow it back for you,” he said, grabbing my hand and holding it as it rubbed along the skin on his face. He opened his eyes after I had rubbed him, desire now evident in his eyes. My breasts swelled as I took in that hungry look. Oh my! I liked that Josh was always so affected around me, and I noticed it more now because I was paying attention to the responses from his body, which I also felt leaning up on my hip. Josh cleared his throat, a little uncomfortable that I had brought him to attention.

Why hello Mr. Hollows!

He helped me up so we were both standing, facing each other. Awkwardly he adjusted himself, his eyes darting across the room. I took a minute to take in his appearance. He was dressed in a black designer tux, looking dashing with his lightly tousled hair brushed back and he had on shiny black dress shoes. I knew that he probably had been loaned his tux, but I wasn’t about to remind him of his money situation or lack thereof. It was a sore point and the main reason he had agreed to try and join the Lappell.

He finally returned to looking back at me, staring into my eyes sweetly as he often did, and then he looked down at my dress. “Jesus Christ Norah, you look, I mean, you look, I mean,” Josh took a deep breath.

“Well, I hope I look good enough to be a Stepford wife?”

Josh composed himself from his staggered breathing; “You look un-bel-ievable.”

He then reached across to me and held my hands. My heart began racing, and suddenly, I was aware of the sensation I was having inside. It felt electric and thrilling, hot and pulsating, and I wanted more.

His hands let go of mine but then slid up my arms, grazing the skin as they travelled up to my shoulders and finally coming to rest around my neck. “Norah.” Josh breathed my name, making it sound like pure want and need. It rolled off his tongue so smoothly and I felt my thighs twitch by how much I enjoyed him saying my name like that. He took a step forward, reaching out and cupping my cheek in his hand, using his thumb to smooth the skin near my mouth. I licked my lips and pulled him a little closer, clearly directing him that he was more than welcome to continue. As his face began to draw close to mine, my hands gripped onto his back, driven by excitement.

This was it, our first kiss, the moment had arrived.

I watched as his lips moved towards my lips, and I began to close my eyes as we were about to take the next step, crossing the line over from friendship to something more. So much more. I was ready and I wanted it. My heart was bracing for an explosion of fireworks that I believed were imminent when…

About Angela Richardson

angela richardson

I’m half Sicilian and grew up in a very large Italian / Sicilian community.  A lot of my inspiration for my writing comes from my younger years with people I knew and  past relationships.  I was fortunate enough to had some deep and intense relationship experiences, so it’s easy for me to write about all different kinds of love and the ability to love more than one person at once.  That, combined with my wild and creative imagination, has helped me come up with some very interesting story ideas.

Books that have moved me and influenced my writing include Great Expectations, Atonement, American Psycho, Interview with a Vampire, everything by Jane Austen or William Shakespeare, the Hunger Games Trilogy, the Twilight series, Fifty Shades of Grey and currently my favorite series is The Opportunist / Dirty Red / Thief series by Tarryn Fisher.  I also really loved Karina Halle’s, Sins & Needles.

I’m also heavily influenced by screenwriters such as Quentin Tarrantino and Christopher Nolan and movies by Martin Scorsese and Guy Ritchie.  I love anything that’s a bit dark and edgy with vision, although deep down I’m a huge romantic and that’s where my writing really comes from.

I’ve been married for about eight years now and have two beautiful children.  I have a daughter called ‘Vienne’ and a son called ‘Eli’.  I love rock music, wine, Mediterranean food, coconut macarons and my cat ‘Slash,’ who is, hands down, the coolest cat in the world.  My favorite TV shows include The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, Boardwalk Empire, Mad Men, Game of Thrones, True Blood, Girls and most recently, the history channel’s new show Vikings.

I self published my first novel, Pieces of Lies on Amazon Kindle in January 2013, and currently I’m writing its sequel which should be out in May 2013 called Pieces of Truth.  I’m also writing another contemporary romance due out later this year.

Facebook / Goodreads

* * *

Purchase on AMAZON > http://amzn.to/16y5vZ3
Currently Only $0.99

The Giveaway

Angela is graciously giving away one Kindle copy of PIECES OF LIES

>>> CLICK TO ENTER TO WIN <<<

