BINDS
(Binds Series #1)

by Rebecca Espinoza

Read below for my review & giveaway

blinds_banner

Click to Add To Your Goodreads To Read List

Purchase BINDS on Amazon > http://amzn.to/11IIXUg

Blurb

Ophelia Brand’s life is in shambles. Married to an abusive man and forced to act like the perfect politician’s wife in public, her freedom has been completely stripped away. Alone and without purpose, Ophelia feels as if there isn’t much in this world to live for. Everything changes when an employee kidnaps her from a state dinner. Ophelia is thrust into a new world filled with people who claim to be an ancient race of Mages. They also claim that she is one of them.

While the country falls into the hands of a tyrannical dictator, Ophelia finds herself torn between the friendly Reece who wants nothing more than to protect her, and Spencer, the leader of the resistance who sees her as a tool to fight the war. Tensions run high as Reece and Spencer both try to help her master her powers and unravel the spells that restricted her from using them. As revelations of her past come to light, and the war is brought to her feet, Ophelia must quickly make a choice of who to trust.

Binds is the first in a series of adult urban fantasy novels with sexy Mages, a sugar skull army, and an unfortunate set of Hello Kitty pjs.

My Review

Rating: 4 stars

This book was a breath of fresh air. It’s been a while since I’ve read an urban fantasy novel and although, I really didn’t know what to expect, I really enjoyed it. I LOVED the first 79% of the book – it had everything I wanted: mystery, angst, secrets, lust, intriguing storyline, action, interesting characters.

The thing about Ophelia Brand is that you have an understanding of her from the very first chapter. You get a back story on her sadistic, psychopath husband, Donovan, and you find yourself sympathizing with her. She did not marry this horrible man – no she married someone she thought was her savior, her rock, her love. Boy was she fooled, but after hearing her story you understood why she stayed with him. She wasn’t some weak woman who could not summon the courage to leave her abusive husband – no she was just biding her time.

At this time in my tale, I feel that it is imperative that I let you in on three simple truths…First, my husband is not a good person…Secondly, I am not a victim…Third, I will never stop trying to get away.

Once Ophelia is “kidnapped”, she is introduced to a world that she never knew existed. No longer sheltered in her husband’s little bubble, she learns about Mages – people who have special gifts that range from manipulating computers to controlling other people’s movements and emotions. It is a fascinating concept and I enjoyed learning about them just as much as Ophelia did. Ophelia also learns that she is a Mage and has powers and secrets locked away inside of her.

This first book in the series lays the groundwork on what is going on in this New World Order and sets up an interesting love triangle. Ophelia feels safe around Reece, the guy that took her from her husband’s hell that night he “kidnapped” her, but also feels something so intense for Spencer, the leader of the Mage resistance. This wasn’t a book where Ophelia was undecided and flitting back and forth between two men. Instead, she first spent most of the time denying she felt anything for anyone, then made up her mind on who she should be with, only to spend a whole lot of time an energy denying any potential feelings she has for the other.

Normally, I always choose a side in these love triangles, but in this case, it was hard to pick one over the other. They both were so different with Ophelia and seemed to give her exactly what she needed. I am leaning a little more on the Team Spencer side, but only because I feel he is her equal in the world. There is no resolution to this love triangle at the end of the book, but I enjoyed how this part of the story ended.

So as I mentioned, I LOVED the first 79% of the book. Up until this point, the only thing that bothered me slightly was how the author went from writing the story as if Ophelia was telling a story to the reader, to writing in the present. This ended very early on, hence it wasn’t a real big deal for me. And that kiss right at about 75% – wow, there was such build up and it totally delivered!

Now you may be asking about what I thought about the remaining 21%. The book kind of lost me after this part. I loved the whole concept of Mages, but then when the Fae was thrown in there, I got confused at where that part fit into the story. I also felt like everything was rushed at the end. So much happened in that last 21% that I was left scratching my head and not fully understanding all the plot twists. The one saving grace about the ending was all the secrets that came spilling out. I kind of guessed the one about Reece, but I was still shocked by all the other ones, especially the one that was revealed in the Epilogue about Spencer.

So for my rating, I give it 4.5 stars for the first 79% and then 3.5 stars for the last 21%, so I will settle on 4 stars. I enjoyed this book and recommend you read it if you want to read something different than a traditional romance book. Ms. Espinoza did such a great job creating this alternate universe that I wouldn’t mind escaping to if I was surrounded but hot Mages. I definitely can’t wait until the next book comes out!

Two Giveaways

Rebecca is graciously giving away a $25 Amazon Gift Card and two (2) signed paperbacks of BINDS.
>>> CLICK TO ENTER <<<

I am giving away an eBook copy of BINDS.
>>> CLICK TO ENTER <<<

* * *

About Rebecca Espinoza
Rebecca Espinoza

An Army wife, has lived in 8 different houses and 5 different states in the past 10 years and she can’t wait for the next move. She is skilled in the arts of basket weaving, origami, and bullshitting. She is a book thief and likely to pilfer any she sees lying around in friends’ houses, so keep an eye out if you invite her in.

She currently resides in beautiful Wahiawa, Hawaii (Army wives will get this joke) with her two sons and dog, Tosh.0 (her most favorite person in the world…the dog, not the comedian), and her husband pops in from the field, missions, or deployment every now and then to say hello. She tends towards the sarcastic when referring to herself in third person. Rebecca is a Turtle, are you?

Facebook / Goodreads

