beautiful disasterwalkign disaster

BEAUTIFUL DISASTER

So I never did I review on my blog for BEAUTIFUL DISASTER and I don’t really feel like I need to. By now I think everyone knows about Beautiful Disaster and if you don’t, then make sure to click on the link to purchase it NOW! But here is my cliff note version on what I thought.

5 star rating! I loved this book and re-read it at least 5x over the last year. The best part of this book was by far TRAVIS MADDOX. How can you not fall in love with this walking, talking sex-on-a-stick guy?!? Now I’ve heard a lot of talk about people not liking Abby and I get it. But for some odd reason, I didn’t mind her at all. I think the biggest reason why I liked Abby was because it wasn’t just her making the mistakes. Both Travis and Abby made mistakes so in a way they cancelled one another out.

It took a while for me to get over this book and move on from the tornado that is Travis Maddox. Best line and best part of the book: I BELONG TO YOU!

I think that is all I need to say. if you haven’t read this book yet, it is worth the investment. Click on the link and BUY THIS BOOK!

Reading Order & Purchase Links

Beautiful Disaster
AMAZON > http://amzn.to/YS1bVa
BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/ZuaXpA

Walking Disaster
AMAZON > http://amzn.to/YYBVW1
BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/17Ccjq4

WALKING DISASTER

*For ease of writing this review, Beautiful Disaster=BD and Walking Disaster=WD*

I re-read BD before starting WD. Some people advised against it because it would be repetitive, but I’m really glad I did. I was able to remember everything that happened in BD which made WD that much better. And to be completely honest, I think I liked the story from Travis’s perspective more than Abby’s.

I LOVED being inside Travis’s head. Seeing what he thought and why he did things made me understand him better and love him even more than I already did. I don’t really even know how to write a review about this book so instead I’m going to give you my favorite quotes.

Let’s start with his mother’s advice and what he took away from it. It is pretty evident that this is the reason why he became who he is and I get it SO MUCH MORE than I ever did while reading BD.

When the sad went away, I would always play, and I would always fight. Hard.

Which led him to the reason he became a man-whore:

I decided a long time ago I would feed on the vultures until a dove came along. A pigeon.

If they carried themselves with respect, I would have given it to them.

My sluts? They weren’t mine. Hence them being sluts.

How can you be annoyed with his lifestyle when he sort of has a point? The best thing about this book was that after reading it, I felt like I got the complete story from all sides. Ms. McGuire did such a good job with filling in all the little gaps, while at the same time not making me feel like I was just reading a repeat book. There WERE extra scenes in there.

Regardless of all the extras, it was just a fan-freaking-tastic book. If you loved BD, then you’ll love this.

Now the only thing I will say is that…I didn’t like the Epilogue (runs and hides in the corner!). Wait, it’s not that I didn’t like the Epilogue, I just expected more. I didn’t like that it jumped 11 years. I didn’t like that it really had minimal Travis/Abby interactions. I LOVED that we got to see their family and learn a little bit more about them. What would I have rather seen? I have no idea – I just know that I was left feeling slightly underwhelmed when I finished. And that was a bit of a let down for me. I love these characters so much so I think I just wanted more for the ending.

BD & WD are the kind of books that you never forget. They are the kind that you pick up every so often to revisit as if you are meeting up with old friends. I am just sad to know that their story has ended. Here’s hoping that when Ms. McGuire writes about the rest of the Maddox brothers, that we get an update on Travis and Abby as well!

Reading Order & Purchase Links

Beautiful Disaster
AMAZON > http://amzn.to/YS1bVa
BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/ZuaXpA

Walking Disaster
AMAZON > http://amzn.to/YYBVW1
BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/17Ccjq4

