TRANSLATION OF LOVE

by Alice Montalvo-Tribue

Read below for my review & giveaway

TOL DAY7

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Blurb

Ellie Brooks has spent the past two years of her life building barriers around herself that are guaranteed to keep people out and her demons in. She doesn’t want to get close to anyone for fear of being hurt again. When she meets Latin superstar Victor Garza, she is shocked at how quickly he is able to penetrate her armor. She doesn’t want to let him in but can’t deny the chemistry they have. He has the potential to heal her wounds and open her heart but she isn’t sure she can let him. Will love be enough to keep them together or will Ellie’s past prove to be too much for the pair to overcome?

My Review

Rating: 4 stars

This book was such a sweet love story with a male character that made you swoon throughout the entire book. Victor Garza, was damn near perfect – sexy, charming, patient, understanding, loyal, honest and just a hint of Alpha male in the bedroom. He was the constant throughout this book as the female character, Elizabeth “Ellie” Brooks was a bit all over the place.

He’s such an open book and I’m like a diary with a lock that only I hold the key to.

I’m a sucker for romances like this – where one of the characters is famous and the other is oblivious to who they are, especially when the storyline is believable. Ellie had no idea who Victor Garza was when she literally ran into one day – how could she, he’s a Latin superstar and she’s never listened to Latin music while growing up in New Jersey. When these two met, you knew they had something there – maybe not instant love, but definitely an instant attraction to one another.

The problem was Ellie was NOT having it. She is so emotionally closed off that as the reader, I had no idea who she was or why she acted the way she did. This made it a bit hard for me to connect with her. Eventually, by the time the book ended, I grew to really love Ellie – once I found out her entire story, everything made sense; however, it took a while for this to happen. Because Victor was damn near perfect, Ellie thankfully did wise up and started letting her guard down.

However, that’s not to say that she never did what all females do when they can’t trust a man with their heart and have unfounded insecurities – she ran. Ellie’s saving grace for me was that she KNEW she shouldn’t run and she KNEW she was being irrational when she acted this way. This self-realization is what really warmed her to me and I really felt for her. She was so paralyzed by fear of being hurt again that she acted on instinct, despite knowing that it was wrong.

‘I know that, but why? I mean what the fuck? I didn’t do anything wrong. You must know that, right?’ Of course I know that, but I’m already too deep into the tantrum and now I have to commit to it.

I feel like I need him, like he’s the catalyst to make all of me whole again. Now it’s too late. I’ve acted like a bitch and now I have to deal with the consequences.

This book was just what I needed to read. It was such a sweet, fun love story with not too much angst. The complications in Ellie and Victor’s relationship were slightly predictable; however, I didn’t care – I still enjoyed it. I read this book in one day and I found that I just could not get enough of Victor. Ms. Montalvo-Tribue did something interesting with Victor – she made this beautiful, gentle man so swoonworthy, yet at the same time she gave him a hint of dominance at all the right times. It was such a great balance to find in a male character. He is by far my favorite thing about this book.

*I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review*

*Purchase Links: ONLY $0.99*

AMAZON > http://amzn.to/10prX0L
BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/ZiErIm

* * *

The Giveaway

Alice is giving away an eBook copy of TRANSLATION OF LOVE
>>> CLICK TO ENTER <<<

* * *

About Alice Montalvo-Tribue
alice montalvo

Alice Montalvo-Tribue lives with her husband and daughter in New Jersey. She has a bachelors degree in communications and is currently working on her masters degree. She spends most of her free time reading, writing, and when the weather permits lounging out on a beach.

Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

TOLTourBanner

