REAL
(Real, Raw, Ripped #1)

by Katy Evans

Read below for my review, an interview with Katy & giveaway

real katy evans

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Blurb

A fallen boxer.
A woman with a broken dream.
A competition…

He even makes me forget my name. One night was all it took, and I forgot everything and anything except the sexy fighter in the ring who sets my mind ablaze and my body on fire with wanting…

Remington Tate is the strongest, most confusing man I’ve ever met in my life.

He’s the star of the dangerous underground fighting circuit, and I’m drawn to him as I’ve never been drawn to anything in my life. I forget who I am, what I want, with just one look from him. When he’s near, I need to remind myself that I am strong–but he is stronger. And now it’s my job to keep his body working like a perfect machine, his taut muscles primed and ready to break the bones of his next opponents . . .

But the one he’s most threatening to, now, is me.

I want him. I want him without fear. Without reservations.

If only I knew for sure what it is that he wants from me?

Click to Read My Review of REAL

* * *

*Purchase Links*
AMAZON > http://amzn.to/11usli9
BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/14vV4bh

* * *

Author Interview

*NOTE: This interview contains some spoilers of REAL*

Are you a fan of boxing? Why did you chose to make Remy an underground fighter? What was it about that world that intrigued you?

I am definitely a fan of boxing and of exercise in general for well being. I admire “fighters” in the most general sense of the word; people who’ve faced obstacles and strived to triumph. Remington Tate “Riptide” is the embodiment of every kind of champion in my mind.

Brooke wasn’t your typical female lead – she too was an athlete, which gave her attributes and life experiences that differ from a lot of other female characters and made her more relatable to Remy. What was your intention in making her this way?

Brooke was shy with me in the beginning, and so was Remington. They are both innately guarded people with extreme awareness of their bodies, like athletes tend to be. They knew, body and soul, they were meant for each other, and as I wrote Brooke she showed me that she was strong—stronger maybe than I had anticipated—so she could take care of her Remy when she needed.

Why did you chose bipolar disorder to be something Remy was dealing with?

I’ve had personal experience with mental illness which has made me read a lot about the subject of conquering it, possibly, by natural means. So ever since I read a book about genetics which touched upon the marvels and miracles of the human body and how, in some cases, people with bipolar disorder exhibited even physical changes (as in eye color) when in their “other” state. I thought it so fascinating I instantly conjured Remington in my head and I had to discover more of him.

Bipolar disorder a disease that effects a lot of people in the real world and isn’t really touched upon in books.  Were you nervous about making Remy – a character that women readers seem to idolize – suffer from such a serious disease?

Never. My love for Remington was absolute from the moment he came alive on page. I couldn’t imagine anyone not loving him.

Remy is definitely one of the most Alpha male characters I have ever read. Why did you make him this way? Did you have a muse while writing him?

He really is very alpha, but I never use a muse when writing, otherwise I feel like my imagination won’t take flight if I ground it to a physical “reality” from the beginning. But I have to say, I discovered Remington slowly, along with Brooke, and we both just fell deeper and deeper with each page. (Do you hear that, Remy? How much we all love you?)

I’ve said in my review that Remy is a beast – inside and outside of the bedroom – with a sexual appetite that does not quit. What makes him so feral and animalistic (i.e. the licking)?

Remy didn’t have a traditional upbringing. He was locked away in an institution, sedated and medicated most of the time. His emotions, wants, and desires aren’t governed by the usual codes of society which might matter to someone raised in a more “normal” environment. Remy doesn’t care one bit about it. He’s all instinct, head to toe. He doesn’t trust his brain, he trusts his gut.

What was your favorite scene in REAL? Hardest scene to write?

Of course the scene with the big reveal, where the title of the book comes from. That’s my favorite. And there really wasn’t a hard one, except, emotionally, I did cry buckets when I wrote the last fight scene and the following hospital scene. It just broke me.

Your book was released not even a month ago and it has already reached #3 in Amazon Paid Books! How do you feel about all this support? Did you expect people to go crazy about Remy?

I hoped that readers would feel all the same amazing things I felt when I wrote REAL, but I truly am over the moon with happiness over how many people have truly “gotten” it and experienced it and loved it like I do.

I know you have 4 more books in the works. Can you give us any idea about what to expect from MINE? What about REMY – is there going to be new scenes other than what we read in REAL?

REMY is basically “Real” in his entire POV, and yes, I am hoping to tackle a lot of the hidden scenes that he lived in the background while he struggled to stay away from Brooke. But he’s a black box of mystery, Remington is, so I just need to be patient for him to show me what’s in his head.

MINE is the sequel of “Real” and it picks up right where “Real” ends (before the epilogue), where Brooke leaves her life behind to follow Remington to the next underground championship. Neither has ever been in love before so they’re both fiercely protective of each other while trying to make it work.  I can’t wait to share soon!

*Purchase Links*
AMAZON > http://amzn.to/11usli9
BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/14vV4bh

* * *

The Giveaway

Katy is giving away five (5) signed paperbacks of REAL (US Only), five (5) eBook copies of REAL, two (2) “Did you like the fight?” coffee mugs, and an “I LOVE REMY” cap
>>> CLICK TO ENTER <<<

* * *

Connect with Katy Evans

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

Real Banner

