EVERY ROSE

by Lynetta Halat

Scroll down for my review and giveaway

 every rose

goodreads-badge-add-plus

My Review

♥ “I loved you yesterday. I love you today. I’ll love you tomorrow…forever.” ♥

I’m a little raw after finishing this book. I had heard a few things about it and my interest was piqued. This story is about a closed-off girl, Lorraina, who returns home from college for winter break only to be reminded of her childhood best friend, Michael Bang, the boy who professed his love for her at such a young age. When Lorraina is given the chance to reacquaint herself with him, she jumps at the chance and thus begins their story of reconnecting, despite some dark hurdles that lurk in their past.

The thing that really hooked me in was Lorraina’s journal entries that detailed her past with Michael. She met Michael when she was 13 and their friendship was…unique. The thing about Michael was that he knew he loved Lorraina before he spoke a word to her. The things Michael did to express his love for her was…borderline stalker. I didn’t know whether to say EWWW or AWWW. Ultimately, I think I’m going to go with AWWW. He was just…honest and knew what he wanted. The best thing about Michael was that he never crossed boundaries and never pushed too much to make things awkward.

“I have your initials tattooed on my arm. I have your face tattooed in my brain. I have your soul tattooed in my heart.” ♥ Michael

I loved Michael just from the journal entries alone and then when Lorraina re-acquainted herself with him, I fell harder. I also was so impressed with Lorraina’s growth as she got older. I was not a fan of young Lorraina and to be honest its for reasons why all teenage girls are irritating – she was immature, cared too much about what other people thought, afraid of the unknown. I was glad she grew up to be someone who realized what she wanted and went after it. Someone who was honest, even if that meant an uncomfortable situation. I loved their story.

Also, I need to mention the awesome songs that Ms. Halat included throughout the book (see below for complete playlist). Music in books is one of my favorite things about a book so when she really used the songs to evoke emotion, I became an instant fan of hers! Lorraina had a great quote about a song in the book and I know exactly how she feels:

I think it’s one of the most beautiful, heart-wrenching songs I’ve ever heard. There’s just something about it that throws me every time I hear it. Not many songs can do that, you know? Just reach in, grab hold of you, shake you, and make you look at things in a whole different light.

Okay so it’s time for some honesty. This is a tragedy (author’s word not mine) – there is no Happily Ever After. BUT, before you groan, let me tell you that once you finish, I think you will be okay with the way the book ended. I normally do not like books that don’t have a HEA, but this one is definitely an exception for me. Don’t get me wrong, I cried. The tears flowed. I think what made it okay for me was that I found out that the story is based on true life events. How can you get mad at that? Did I wish it ended differently? Yes. But I’m okay that it ended the way it did and hopefully you will be okay with it too.

The only other things that I did not care for was the religious component, even though it did serve a purpose, and the use of the term “ya know?” frequently. Other than that I think the story was heart-wrenching, sweet and honest. The characters were beautiful, flawed and relatable. And the writing was good. I look forward to seeing what Ms. Halat has in store for us next!

I can’t possibly give this book a rating because even though I may have not wanted it to end the way it did, I feel horrible saying it should have been done differently given that it was based on true life events. However, I know people look for ratings, so mine would be 4 stars. So what I will say is that I did love it and recommend you read it.

*I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review*

EVERY ROSE Playlist

* * *

*Purchase Links*

AMAZON > http://amzn.to/Xp30Wf (Only $0.99)
BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/12FLu1j
SMASHWORDS > http://bit.ly/14Hstvs

* * *

About Lynetta Halat

Author Pic[3]

For as long as she can remember, Lynetta Halat has lived to read and has written countless stories and plays since she was a young girl. A teacher by day and an avid reader and closet writer by night, she has always dreamt of penning books that people could connect with and remember; and her first novel, Every Rose, is the perfect catalyst to launch her into the world of publishing. Her love of the English language prompted her to pursue a master’s degree in English from Old Dominion University in Virginia. A self-proclaimed “Coast Girl,” she lives in Mississippi with her adorable husband, two amazing sons, and two loveable dogs. She is currently at work on her second book.

Facebook / Goodreads

* * *

Two Giveaways

There is a HUGE EVERY ROSE Giveaway going on, including – signed paperbacks of EVERY ROSE, bookmarks, Amazon Gift Cards, keychains and more…
Every Rose Giveaway

Lynetta is giving away an eBook copy of EVERY ROSE
>>> CLICK TO ENTER <<<

