drivengoodreads-badge-add-plus
Rating: 5 stars

It has been a while since I’ve read a book that I truly adored and can honestly feel confident in screaming that “I LOVED this book!” DRIVEN, the first book of the Driven Trilogy, was a great change up in my reading schedule and such a pleasant surprise. It is now on my list of favorite books that I have read so far this year. It had everything that I love in a book – a smoking hot man that is not afraid to go after what he wants; a female character that is the right balance between vulnerable, fiesty and strong; sexual tension that made my heart race; and a story that kept my attention and had me anxiously awaiting what would happen next.

From the moment Rylee meets Colton, the chemistry and passion that flowed between them was abundant. Their first interaction, backstage at a charity auction, set the tone for a story about two people with baggage trying to ignore the connection they feel for one another, yet unable to do so. The progression of this book went at the perfect pace for me. It wasn’t like they jumped right into bed with one another and fell madly in love after they first met. Instead their involvement happened gradually and I never once felt like the story was dragging. Nothing happened too fast and nothing happened too slow.

“How many women have you tried to seduce tonight?” I raise my eyebrows in disgust as guilt flickers fleetingly across his face. “What? Didn’t you know that I happened upon you and your first conquest of the evening in the little alcove backstage?”

Colton Donavan. This man is a pickle. He’s sort of like an Alpha male, but not really. He has dominant qualities, but is not quite a dominant. He’s kind of a bad boy playboy, but that is an image he just portrays. I do know that he’s HOT, he’s a race car driver and he has some serious issues. Here is what was most interesting about Colton – I didn’t like him when I first met him. I was actually a little repulsed by the way he came onto Rylee. It was almost too aggressive and over-confident. HOWEVER, that feeling was very short lived. I feel like K. Bromberg took all my favorite traits of my various book boyfriends and combined them to make Colton. He had the perfect balance of dominance, vulnerability, romance and cockiness.

“Oh, Rylee, it’s not exactly polite to lie when some of me is still in you.”

Besides loving Colton, I loved Rylee just as much. I’m going to be honest. I’m a bit judgy when it comes to female characters. I get annoyed easily by certain traits and actions that some female characters have. However, I instantly loved Rylee and that feeling continued throughout the book. She too has a past that is fueled by guilt and heartache making her extremely closed off and controlled. My favorite thing about Rylee was that she evolved. She changed to accommodate her feelings for Colton, rather than sticking to her guarded ways. I think a big part of this was due to her best friend, Haddie, who was pretty awesome and gave her great advice. I was really able to relate to Rylee and the emotions she went through throughout the book.

“I don’t want to be treated like glass anymore. Like Max did. I want to feel that violent passion of his wash over me as he takes me with reckless abandon. I want him to dominate me so that I surge up and crash down without a thought otherwise”

I feel like I need to talk about the writing of this book. It was so well written and I could tell that this story was planned out meticulously. Everything that happened happened for a reason. I was never left feeling like something came out of left field or was just thrown into the story as fluff. Rylee and Colton’s relationship ran hot and cold; however, instead of being annoyed or confused by the revolving door of emotions, it made sense to me because of Rylee’s inner thoughts. Since she explained it, I got it; hence, great writing by K. Bromberg.

“I can’t figure out which is hotter, Rylee, watching you come or making you come.”

My favorite parts of this book was the witty banter and sexual tension between Rylee and Colton. K. Bromberg knows how to write steam and she knows how to write sex. I felt like I needed to take a cold shower after reading through some of the scenes (two words: kitchen island). I’d even go as far as saying that this book is in the same realm of Fifty Shades and the Crossfire series, but rest assured, it stands strong on its own and I have no doubt The Driven Trilogy will make a name for itself.

“I want to take my time with you, Rylee. I want to build you up nice and slow and sweet like you need. Push you to crash over the edge. And then I want to fuck you the way I need to. Fast and hard until you’re screaming my name. The way I’ve wanted to since you fell out of that storage closet and into my life.”

This is a three book series and this book doesn’t necessarily end on a cliffhanger per se, but I definitely kept tapping on my Kindle to turn the page in hopes that it was wrong and I had not finished the last page. I am anxiously awaiting for August, the tentative release date for the second book FUELED, which may include parts from the POV of Colton. I highly recommend you read this book. So go click the link below and BUY THIS BOOK NOW!

✭ Purchase on AMAZON > http://amzn.to/16XnhbY

SIDE NOTE: This book had a fantastic music playlist. Author K. Bromberg graciously put together the playlist for me. Happy listening!

✭ ✭ ✭

TWO GIVEAWAYS

K. Bromberg is giving away one $50 Amazon Gift Card and two (2) $25 Amazon Gift Cards
►►► CLICK TO ENTER ◄◄◄

I am giving away a KINDLE copy of DRIVEN.
Winner will be selected on Monday, 5/27.
►►► CLICK TO ENTER ◄◄◄

✭ Purchase on AMAZON > http://amzn.to/16XnhbY

