DrowninginYou[6]

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Synopsis

Charlee May’s been crushing on Dexter Hollingworth since she was fifteen. Five years later, a horrific skiing disaster at Mason’s Ski Lift Resort leaves her millionaire dad critically injured and her mom dead at the hands of Dexter operating the lifts. Charlee is suddenly the sole caretaker for her little brother while their world falls apart.

Dexter couldn’t be more different from Charlee. He’s tattooed, avoids exclusive relationships and his Dad has a fair share of illegal dealings. With Dexter’s reputation, almost everyone believes he planned the Mason’s skiing disaster.

And after all these years he’s still crushing on Charlee May, the girl who’s too good for him.

When this cruel twist of fate ties Charlee’s family and Dexter’s reputation together, Charlee and Dexter wonder if their feelings are reciprocated, while Dexter discovers his dad is trying to steal the May’s millionaire fortune.

But like an addiction, one look, one touch, one taste—they’re hooked no matter the consequences.

My Review

Rating: 2 stars

When I read the synopsis, I was really excited to start reading this. It had an interesting twist and I’m a sucker for unrequited love. Unfortunately, this book just wasn’t for me. There was a lot of disconnect between the two characters since we get the story from alternating POVs and the story just didn’t make sense to me. I did finish the book hoping that the ending was going to tie everything together. I was disappointed when it didn’t.

The story starts after the accident at Mason’s Ski Resort, with Charlee dealing with the effects on her family – her mother is dead, father is in critical condition and her little brother looking to her for comfort. Charlee is in denial about the accident and the reality of her father’s condition for pretty much the entire book. This was the first thing that bothered me – although only slightly.

She was a 20yo who refused to have a serious conversation about the extent of her father’s injuries – she didn’t even really know what was wrong with him because she wouldn’t listen to a doctor when they tried to speak to her. She would not talk about the future with her father when he tried bringing it up and she would walk out of the room if his condition was being mentioned. I get it – its horrible and extremely painful and at first I totally understood where she was coming from. But as the events of the book continued and time ticked by, she continued riding her denial train when she needed to get off and face reality. But as I mentioned, this wasn’t a big deal for me. I respect that this was how the author wanted to deal with her family’s pain.

And then there is Charlee and Dexter’s feelings for one another. According to both of their POVs, Dexter and Charlee have never really interacted nor acknowledged one another while they were in school together. They always observed each other from afar. However, when they first interact after the accident, they talk to one another as if they are old acquaintances who are used to being around one another. There is a familiarity between the two of them from the minute they speak to each other and I’m not talking a ‘love at first sight’ or ‘instant connection’ kind of thing. I’m talking calling each other nicknames and openly knowing things about one another. If they’ve always been too afraid to talk to one another before, how come after an accident that Dexter supposedly caused, it is suddenly so easy for them to?

Let me address the storyline. It started out good. It was a real mystery as to what happened the day of the accident and what part did Dexter and/or his father play in it. However, as the story went on, that plot changed and became so confusing that even at the end when I was supposed to know the truth I was left scratching my head going “Huh?” I just didn’t see how the truths that came out at the end of the book related back to the ski accident. I felt like the author was going one way, then got an idea and changed directions, only she forgot to go back and connect the dots.

My last issue with the book was the way the author dealt with the alternating POVs. I love alternating POVs. I feel like I get the best of both worlds and I really am not picky how the author handles them. Sometimes I like it when scenes overlap slightly so you get the other person’s take on it and sometimes I like it when the author just picks right back up once she switches to another character. But what I don’t like is when I feel a disconnect between the transfer from one character to another, which I felt was done a lot in this book.

For example, when Dexter finally started getting the courage to text Charlee and be a bit more honest about his feelings for her, Charlee responded similarly. When this happened I thought “Yay! Great this is a huge step for them.” But then when we switched to Charlee’s POV it was like that exchange never happened and she was still pining after him like she was before the conversation. It was odd – there was no internal dialogue about it or anything. It was like the story took two steps forward and then ten steps backwards. Maybe it was that these two characters had totally different interpretations of the events but, it just never came together for me and left me confused for most of the book.

Ultimately, i just don’t think this was the right book for me. I know there are some great reviews out there about this book so maybe I am in the minority. It lost me about halfway in and it was a struggle for me to finish, but I was glad I did finish it.

AMAZONhttp://amzn.to/10sUT8d ✣

BARNES & NOBLEhttp://bit.ly/1aCF9Fv ✣

