LET LOVE IN

by Melissa Collins

Scroll down for my review, excerpt & giveaway

letloveinweb e cover

Rating: 4.5 stars

I started reading this book not knowing really anything about it other than what the synopsis told me. I am beginning to love starting to read books this way – where I do not read any reviews or hear any chatter about it. It allows me to really go in open minded without any type of expectations or preconceived notions.

When I met Madeleine (Maddy) Becker, I liked her instantly. Her parents died when she was only 10 years old which sent her to live with her much older Aunt Maggie. When her Aunt died during her senior year in high school, Maddy moved in with her best friend, Melanie, and her mother, Momma C. Melanie and Momma C were the only really family she remembered and she chose to build walls all around her heart. Sounds cliche right?

Well this is the first thing I really enjoyed about this book…even Maddy thinks its cliche. What Melissa Collins did was take all the stereotypical story lines that we all normally are used to in books and has her character address them head on. Maddy is not some naive, innocent girl who doesn’t know any better. She knows that she is purposefully keeping people out and she knows how lame it sounds – but she still does it. I love characters that have this type of self-awareness. It saves me time from rolling my eyes! 🙂

Self-preservation is a double edged-blade – keeps you safe, but at a fairly large cost. I’m not sure that I’ll really ever let anyone in and yet, on the other hand, letting someone in and sharing who I am and my entire existence with them, is really all I’ve ever wanted.

After getting to college, Maddy meets Reid Connely and she instantly sees something in him, something that is extremely familiar to her – pain. Reid is this gorgeous guy who goes from hot to cold in an instant and has never had a girlfriend. After a few do they like each other or hate each other moments, I was just waiting for these two to get together. At this point, Ms. Collins gives us Reid’s POV as well – alternating between Maddy and Reid, which I really enjoyed. At first I thought this was going to be a drawn out cat and mouse game between the two of these beautifully broken people, but Ms. Collins came through again and did not keep me in suspense!

“Every single part of us is touching – chests, hips, legs, toes. Souls”

The majority of the book is with the two of them trying to LET LOVE IN. You watch as Maddy’s walls slowing breaking down little by little and only because Reid seems to be the only one to understand. Maddy comes a long way and I was really proud of her growth. Reid on the other hand still has a long way to go. From the beginning, you just knew there was something dark hidden in him, and even when we were in his head, you still didn’t know what it was. When it’s finally revealed, you are heartbroken for him and are completely sympathetic to him. I think I fell in love with him even more once I found out his true story.

I loved the first 75% of this book, loved the story and both main characters – it was fan-freaking-tastic! However, towards the last quarter of the book, Maddy – the female character that was beginning to become one of my favorites – went along and did something stupid, really stupid. [*Note and possible spoiler: I am not talking about cheating] Sigh. To make matters worse, instead of taking any responsibility for it, she blames Reid. Sigh again. And then the book ended. No cliffhanger, but no resolution either.

So I was left mulling over how I felt about this ending. I found myself siding with Reid and being completely annoyed with Maddy and her high horse. And then I wondered whether I should feel that way or not. Was I going against girl code siding with him over her? Am I horrible for thinking that she was in the wrong? These were the thoughts that sat in my head once I finished reading. I’m still left scratching my head.

This is the first book in the series and the follow up book, LET LOVE STAY, will be coming out in July (yay no long wait)! I loved the way Ms. Collins wrote this book – she had a great balance of internal thoughts and dialogue. She made me really fall for these characters and the writing was spot on. The transitions from one character’s POV to the other was seamless and the story was well thought out. I can honestly say I am eagerly awaiting LET LOVE STAY so I can get some resolution for Maddy and Reid! I absolutely recommend you read this book – so go buy now!

✭ ✭ ✭

Excerpt

It takes him a few minutes to find his voice, but when I look up at him, I see him trying to catch his breath through his tears. He sinks down beside me and turns my face to his. “You broke my heart Maddy. I hope one day I’ll get over it, but I love you and it’s because I love you that I’ll say this. You deserve love. You are not broken and empty like you think you are.” He places his finger over my lips as I try to interrupt him and wipes the tears from my eyes intent on finishing his ‘Maddy is worth loving’ speech.

“You are. Now let me finish. I know losing your parents was difficult and that, in a lot of ways, you’re still reeling from it, but it will never get better until you let it get better. You have to let them go and move on with your life. I know that you deserve to be loved. And for fuck’s sake, I was so hopeful that I would be the one deserving enough of the honor to do so, but I’m not. I just hope that one day you realize you deserve it- that one day you’ll be able to let love in.”

He stands up and grabs my hand to pull me up with him. The sobs have stopped and I wipe the tears away. I want to say something, but I don’t have the right words – what would the right words even be at this point?

Purchase Links

► ► ► CURRENTLY ONLY $0.99 ◄ ◄ ◄

AMAZON > http://amzn.to/114KHYv

BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/12sdVSU

* * *

About Melissa Collins

I’ve always been an avid reader.  Majoring in English Literature was a no brainer.  Becoming a teacher and instilling my love for reading into my students was also a no brainer.  I’ve spent the last ten years teaching and I’ve loved (mostly) every minute of it.  When I was home on maternity leave for my third son, I discovered a new genre that sparked my creativity.  My passion for writing sprang from my love of reading and once I knew I had a story to tell, I couldn’t wait to get it out there.  I only hope that my readers enjoy reading my story as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

* * *

Two Giveaways

➊ GRAND PRIZE: Melissa is giving away

▸ a Signed Paperback and Swag (US Only)

▸ a Let Love In Necklace and Swag

▸ a $5 Amazon Gift Card & Swag

►►► CLICK TO ENTER ◄◄◄

➋ Enter to win an eBook copy of LET LOVE IN

►►► CLICK TO ENTER ◄◄◄

BEP Button Final[4]

