LUCK OF LOVE

by Ashley Poch & Tiffany Aleman

Scroll down for my review, character casting & giveaway

Luck of Love

Rating: 4 stars

I read a lot of books and have read plenty of different story lines. I feel like I’ve seen almost everything. However, a love story with a bit of suspense gets me every single time. I’m a sucker for them and this book did not disappoint. Add to the fact that this book was set in my home state of New Jersey and gave a shout out to Disco Fries (only true NJ natives know what they are), I became an instant fan!

That being said I feel like I owe it to you to come right out and tell you that yes, as the synopsis indicates, there is a love triangle in this book. I have been having a love/hate relationship with love triangles lately and the one in this book definitely teetered between both love and hate for me.

Blake Riley has a past that makes her avoid any types of touch, makes her tense at any sign of interest from a man, and makes her come off rude to most people who try and talk to her. Then Blake meets Derrick, CEO of Atlantic Knight’s Resort in Atlantic City, who makes her feel things she has never felt before and gives her a sense of peace. But, Blake also meets Landon, who makes her feel carefree and makes her laugh.

I’m going to do things to your body that nothing else will ever compare. When your body aches, I’ll be the only one to relieve the pain. When you’re starving, I’ll be the one to satisfy your appetite. And when you feel like you can’t breathe, I’ll be the oxygen you need.

Derrick is everything that Blake needs – strong, romantic, patient, understanding, powerful. He never pushed her too hard and knew that Blake would open up to him on her own time table. He always went out of his way to make her feel special – from getting her flowers, to planning a romantic dinner, to just making sure she was cherished. I am a huge Derrick fan!

Landon, although sweet in his own way, is much more rugged. He brings out a side of Blake that has long been hidden – the part of her that laughs and throws caution to the wind. He is definitely more the one you have a wild, crazy sex-filled weekend with rather than the one you bring home to mom.

And poor Blake. This girl’s past is horrid and when you get an idea of what she went through, you wonder how she is even functioning and able to have a relationship with anyone. I loved Blake’s determination to not let her past rule her future and the effort she put forth to try and change. I was also quite jealous that she had these two amazing guys vying for her attention. I think she handled it better than I would have expected and it made me like her THAT much more.

And just so you know Blake, once you’ve had a taste of what I can offer you, your body will crave me like a drug addict craves their next hit.

At first, I was not a fan of this love triangle. I found that by having feelings for both men, it somehow lessened the feelings Blake had for the other one. With love triangles, I like when one is the frontrunner. I like when there is a clear advantage given to one over the other. In this book, it was difficult to decide which man was better for her. I also feel that when the person left deciding between the two – in this instance, Blake – is a bit wishy washy and goes back and forth, I lose a bit of respect for them as a character. There were those moments for Blake and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t shake my head in disappointment.

HOWEVER, the authors did not cross the line to the point of no return with this love triangle. I think the fact that Blake was never sneaky or dishonest really redeemed her. Ultimately, I liked how the love triangle played out, despite not being resolved by the end of the book. I’m anxious to see where it goes in the next book.

And I’ll just rip the band aid completely off and tell you that there is a cliffhanger as well. WAIT. Don’t groan – hear me out. First off, the second book is expected to be released at the end of summer, so it won’t be a very long wait. Secondly, although it is a cliffhanger, I was able to put two and two together to get the gist of what may come and I’m sure you will be able to as well. It wasn’t the type of cliffhanger that will make you throw your Kindle/iPad/Nook/etc.

I thought this book was good, and the story was great! But, I do think the writing could be a little stronger. There were scenes where I felt the actions were laid out very systematically, almost robotically, which interrupted the flow of the scene. For example, “I walk down the hallway, through the living room, and stop by the front door, picking my purse up off the floor. I drape the strap of my purse over my shoulder, drop my phone inside and retrieve my keys” did not add to the story or plot and made it feel like i checking off a list of actions.

In addition, although I liked that we got the point of views of Blake, Derrick and Landon, I was unclear as to why Dean, Blake’s best friend and roommate, had a scene from his POV. I didn’t really see the purpose at all for it and it also stalled the story by its random placement in the book.

Finally, I thought scenes length of time need to be a bit more realistic in connection with the amount of dialogue exchanged. For example, when Blake and Derrick sit down to eat at a restaurant, the amount of time that passes between them ordering, receiving their food, eating and paying is about the time that it takes them to exchange about 6 sentences. Normally, this stuff doesn’t ever stick out in my mind and I don’t really care, but it happened a couple times in the book that made me take notice.

Ultimately though, I really liked this story, I really liked the characters and I am most definitely going to want to read the second book. It is definitely a fun summer read that you should add to your TBR list!

One final thought…this is a book where you will pick a team and I will gladly come out and say I am so TEAM DERRICK! I am eager to hear what team you are on.

Luck of Love Dream Cast[6]

✭ ✭ ✭

Purchase Links

AMAZON > http://amzn.to/10WI4HL

BARNES & NOBLE > http://bit.ly/123BFOl

✭ ✭ ✭

About Tiffany Aleman

I am 27 years old, with a wonderful family. My husband is in the Army, and we have two wonderful children. Ashley and I have been best of friends since we were 13. I recently graduated from South University with my Associate’s Degree as a Paralegal. I enjoy listening to music, playing with my kids, and going to the beach, and anything that has to do with the outdoors pretty much.

I’ve always liked to write, but never really had an interest in reading until the summer of 2012. I am so excited to be taking my writing journey with Ashley, and we cannot wait for everyone to get their hands on Luck of Love, which is the first installment in the Luck Series. I have many authors that I consider my favorite so I’ll just name a few: E.L. James, SC Stephens, Molly McAdams, Rebecca Donovan, K.A Linde, Marie Coulson, and S.H. Kolee.

About Ashley Poch

Ashley grew up in Texas but now has joined her husband to reside in North Dakota. She is a military wife and mother to two adorable children. She’s always wanted to travel having grown up in a small town. Her interest in reading sparked last summer and now she’s a lost cause without her e-reader. Since she loves to travel, the places she gets to go in her fictional books are what any girl could ask for.

When Ashley isn’t glued to her computer you can find her outdoors either playing with her children or relaxing and enjoying the sun reading a good romance novel.

Website / Facebook/ Goodreads

✭ ✭ ✭

Two Giveaways

Tiffany & Ashley are giving away two (2) $25 Amazon or Barnes & Noble Gift Cards

►►► CLICK TO ENTER ◄◄◄

I am giving away a KINDLE copy of Luck of Love

►►► CLICK TO ENTER ◄◄◄

Luck of Love Tour Banner[3]

